Scott Kelly, District Commissioner 231-547-1144
208 W. Lincoln; Charlevoix, MI 49720

Dan Phillips, Umpire in Chief 231-330-3204



2018 Tournaments

Results Archives

Info Sheets

Motel Info

Commissioner's Page

Local Leagues

Manager Info

Umpire Info

Hall of Fame


ASA Home



The D21 Softball Group proudly welcomes you to Charlevoix, Emmet and Cheboygan Counties for the upcoming Tournament Season. We offer the best Amateur Softball action played at the most scenic facility in the Mid-West and possibly anywhere. Feel free to contact us with any questions you have, or explore our site for immediate answers. Here you can find information about upcoming tournaments, housing information, or you can request information right on line. Thank you for your interest in Tournament Softball.

Follow our weekend tournaments through our Facebook Group at "D21 Softball at Petoskey". Go to facebook and search "D21 Softball at Petoskey", the page is "open" and all can view it. If you would like to become a member, just request that and Scott will add you to the group so you get notifications when information is posted to the group.

Mapquest Link to Petoskey's Ed White Field on the Waterfront - 225 Bayfront Dr, Petoskey, MI 49770

(use aerial map view to see the satellite picture)

Joe Malec (left), is presented the 2017 Umpire Aware of Excellence for USA Softball of Michigan by Bryan Smith, Michigan Umpire in Chief for USA Softball of Michigan. The award was presented on 3/24/18 at the State Umpire Clinic in Vanderbilt. This award recognizes Joe as the best District Umpire in Chief for 2017 in the entire state and we agree!!

Scott Kelly was inducted into the 2015 MASA Hall of Fame in Midland on 1/24/15. Hall of Fame members from District 21 on hand for the ceremony include: Mike Lalonde, Meg Kitson, Dick Bare, Scott, George Wheelock (behind Scott), Bev Neville and Billy Norton.

Lynda Christensen and Bev Neville were inducted into the 2014 MASA Hall of Fame in Midland on 1/18/14. Ten Hall of Fame members from MASA District 21 were on hand to welcome them. (LtoR) Julie Biddick, George Wheelock, Deb Hamlin, Mike Lalonde, Meg Kitson, Monica Kline, Lynda Christensen, Dick Bare, Bev Neville, Jerry Rosevear, Dick Harbaugh and Stacey Barber-Walker.

LtoR: Julie Biddick (2007), Mike Lalonde (2008), Stacey Barber-Walker, George Wheelock (2000) and Monica Kline (2006) at Stacey's induction into the MASA Hall of Fame. Stacey is joined by representatives from District 21 who were able to attend the banquet to welcome Stacey into the Hall of Fame in Midland on 1/19/13.

2011 Most Valuable Fan - Richard McDonald

LtoR: Dick Bare, Marty Stempky, George Wheelock, Deb Hamlin, Meg Kitson at the MASA Hall of Fame Induction in Midland in January 2011. Marty and Deb were inducted as players.

LtoR: Mike Lalonde, George Wheelock, Billy Norton, Dick Bare at the MASA Hall of Fame induction in Midland in January 2010. Billy Norton, D21 UIC, was inducted.

Pam Hodge (L), Meg Fowler-Kitson (R) with Leroy Buchanan at their MASA Hall of Fame induction in Midland in January of 2009.


Pitch Speed Comparisons

A simulated view from behind the backstop for facing one of the fastest men's fast pitch throwers - 83/84 mph from 46 feet is equivalent to 108/110 mph in baseball.

Petoskey Area Video


2018 Pitcher Classification List

USA Softball of Michigan 2018 State Tournaments

Class B - Midland - 7/20/18

Class C - Midland - 7/20/18

Class D - Port Huron - 8/4/18

Class E - Holland - 8/4/18

MASA Classification Committee Members

Jerry Hanson - MASA Executive Director - Midland

Scott Kelly - Committee Coordinator/Commissioner - Charlevoix

Bryan Smith - MASA State Umpire In Chief - Lansing

Billy Norton - Umpire - Sault Ste. Marie

Lou Kelly - Manager - Battle Creek

David Lach - Manager / Player - South Lyon

Kyle Beane - Player - Lapeer

Shannon Damron - Pitcher - Marshall

Del Benson - Manager -Munger

Sean Kelly - Pitcher - Marshall

Jon Gwizdala - Pitcher - Bay City

Rick Schwemin - Manager / Player - Marquette

Aaron Davis - Player / Commissioner - St Joe

Rob McCormick - Commissioner - Ada

Troy Stowell - MASA President / Commissioner / Player

Jeff Weaver - Manager / Player - Sawyer

If you have questions about the appeal process, please send an email to Scott who will get the information to the 15 member committee that oversees MASA Pitcher Classification issues. Team classification guidelines still are in effect where teams that finish 1st or 2nd in MASA Fast Pitch state finals in class C, D or E or place in the top 4 of an ASA national tournament, they must move up a class the next year of competition. If 5 or more players from a move-up roster play together the following season of competition, they are also considered an automatic move-up to that next class as well. If you have questions, please email Scott at the link above.


Michigan Fast Pitch Information Web-site

Many thanks to Sean Kelly for this great site!!

2018 Cornfest 7/6-7/8


2011 Video Archive of

Championship Games

ASA Adult Team Roster - Fill-in

ASA Pick-Up Player Form

Banned Bat List

Double Elimination Brackets in MS Excel for Download

District 21 ONLY ASA Adult Team Registration Form

Visit our Trophy and Award Specialists at:

The Trophy Case
610 W. Sheridan Street, Suite 1
Petoskey, MI  49770
Phone: 231.347.3016   Fax: 231.347.6290